5.1. Study Material

Précis:    To encourage a break from the genetic and environmental past; how to hew a new you; engrafting into the Divine Nature.

Text: 1 Peter 1:23;  2 Peter 1:4

Introduction:

In the mid-eighteen hundreds, two men met at a local North African restaurant. The first, a land surveyor and engineer by profession, told of his dream to build a canal so long and deep that it would save the world untold millions in shipping costs. The second, a French sculptor by the name of Frederic Auguste Bartholdi, determined to build a beautiful lighthouse which would guide ships through the waters. The canal was completed in 1885 and still operates today as the Suez Canal. Bartholdi’s masterpiece was completed in 1876; a lighthouse built in the image of a colossal maiden, standing fifteen stories high, holding a lighted torch overhead. Sadly, he was unable to secure permission from the participating governments to erect it.  One year later, it was created in large cartons and shipped as a gift from the French Government to the United States of America. On October 23, 1886, President Cleveland dedicated her to the world as The Statue Of Liberty. It stands on Ellis Island on a 15 story pedestal lighting newcomers from its 30 story advantage. The plaque at its base reads: Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free; the wretched refuse from your teeming shore. Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me. I lift my lamp beside the golden door.  Emma Lazarus

For decades they came. Immigrants from all cultures and walks of life carrying nothing but a few hand-carry-ons and the clothes on their backs. They also brought their knowledge, talents, abilities, cultures and traditions. They also brought the seed of many generations in their loins; the seed from which we all descended.